Changing the Cache Directory

The cache directory is where files are stored during background uploads and after upload for quick access should you need to open the file from the network drive (Workgroup and Desktop Edition users only). If your cache fills up during a large upload, you may notice that background uploads from the operating system to the cache slow significantly. This is normal and as space is freed in the cache from completed uploads the cache upload will return to normal speed.

The default locations for cache for each platform are listed below.

  • Windows Vista/7/8/10: C:\ProgramData\JungleDisk
  • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\JungleDisk
  • Mac: /Library/Caches/JungleDisk/
  • Linux: /var/cache/jungledisk/

The name of the cache folders are as follows.

  • Simply Backup: cache
  • Desktop Edition: cache
  • Workgroup Edition: wg-cache
  • Server Edition: server-cache (only stored on the server)

You can change the location of the cache at anytime through the Jungle Disk Activity Monitor (see screen shots below). After you have changed the cache location, delete the cache folder from the previous cache directory and Restart the Service.

 

 

Expire Cached Data: This will reset the expiration timeout on any cached files and directories. The next time a file or directory is accessed Jungle Disk will re-verify that it has not been modified on the server. If you are accessing the same same online disk from multiple machines at the same time, there will be a delay of 2-4 minutes before changes made on one machine appear on the other machine due to caching. You can reduce this delay by expiring cached data when you know changes have occurred that are not yet visible.

Remove Cached Directories:
 This will delete the the cached directory structure of your online disk and allow it to be rebuilt should it become out of sync.  This can occur when using Jungle Disk with multiple computers.  Your cached files will not be removed as part of this process.

Remove Cached Files:
 This will delete any cached files. It should not be needed in most circumstances, but can free space in your cache and remove any invalid directory listings should they occur. This only affects your cache of the data and does not remove any actual data from the online disk. In addition, any files stored in the cache for background upload are not removed.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk